top of page
Search

Living Gluten-Friendly Guide




If you found this page then you are likely looking at adopting a Gluten-Free or as we like to call it Gluten-Friendly lifestyle. We have put together this blog post to help you do just that. Here goes!


What is Gluten?


Gluten is a type of protein found in wheat, barley, rye and spelt. It is found in cereals, grains, breads, pasta, and many other products. Gluten helps bread to rise, giving it a chewy texture. A gluten-free diet is a diet completely free of all foods derived from the above grains. Unfortunately, gluten shows up unexpectedly in many processed foods that contain food additives, flavorings, stabilizers, or thickening agents, so if you are celiac you need to pay extra attention to the ingredients of processed foods.



Wheat and Gluten Sensitivity


Celiac disease is a condition that causes many digestive symptoms due to difficulty in the digestion of gluten. Those with celiac disease must avoid all gluten-containing foods 100% of the time, so please keep that in mind when reading this blog, gluten can hide in some pretty sneaky places, so anyone with celiac disease needs to be extra cautious. Certain individuals who do not have celiac disease have been found to be sensitive to wheat or all gluten-containing foods. Often this is the result of eating gluten multiple times daily, every day, for many years. Sensitivities develop that can only improve with the removal of wheat or all gluten for a period of time and if you decide to reintroduce it limit your consumption. Most individuals who are sensitive to gluten find that their symptoms return any time they eat gluten and therefore they choose to avoid it permanently.



What Starches are Acceptable on a Gluten-Free Diet?


All grains contain gluten, the most common are wheat, rye, barley, and spelt. Some grains that may be deemed acceptable on your gluten-free journey are rice, quinoa, buckwheat, millet, or certified gluten-free oats. When it comes to baking coconut flour, almond flour, and cassava flour are a few good replacements.


Your Gluten-Free Guide to Food


Note: All fruits and vegetables are gluten-free unless prepared with breading, cream sauces, or seasonings that contain gluten.


GLUTEN-FREE BEVERAGES

Almond milk

Coconut milk

Cashew milk

Vegetable juice

Carbonated or mineral water

Tea/coffee


BEVERAGES THAT CONTAIN GLUTEN

Malted milk (Ex. Ovaltine)

Ale, beer

Instant coffee (Some brands add wheat flour)


BREAD & CEREALS THAT CONTAIN GLUTEN

Breads or cereals made from wheat, durum, kamut, semolina, spelt, farina, bulgur, cake

flour, graham flour, matzo, matzah, couscous, rye, or barley.

GLUTEN-FREE BREAD & CEREALS

Baked goods made from nut flours, coconut flour, chickpea flour, or cassava flour.

Bread and cereals that are made from rice, buckwheat, quinoa, millet & sorghum flour.



To learn more about Living Gluten-friendly download this free guide here: